For a better browsing experience, you may need to change or upgrade your browser to a more recent version.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the stamp tax?

According to the Stamp Tax law and the law of Development of the State's Financial Resources, an annual fee of EGP 6.10 must be paid by the subscribers of all mobile operators to the tax authority.

For postpaid subscribers, the whole stamp tax amount (EGP 6.10) is added to the subscriber's bill once every year and this has been the case in the past years.

For prepaid subscribers, starting from March 2012 the stamp tax amount will be deducted on instalments of 51pt every month to facilitate payment for subscribers. In case of not enough credit, the available amount will be deducted and the rest will be deducted upon the next recharge. Also in case of not enough balance during the whole month, the 51pt will be carried over to the next month.

The Stamp Tax is an already existing tax that Orange used to pay to the government for all its prepaid and postpaid subscribers throughout the past years while it has been collected from postpaid subscribers only. Mobile operators have decided to collect the Stamp Tax fees from the prepaid customers as well, as per the law.

Related questions