For a better browsing experience, you may need to change or upgrade your browser to a more recent version.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the stamp tax?

According to the Stamp Tax law and the law of Development of the State's Financial Resources, an annual fee of EGP8 instead of EGP6.10 will be paid by the subscribers of all mobile operators to the tax authority.

For postpaid subscribers, the whole stamp tax amount (EGP 8) is added to the subscriber's bill once every year and this has been the case in the past years.

For prepaid subscribers, starting from June 2020 the stamp tax amount will be deducted on instalments of 67pt every month to facilitate payment for subscribers.

In case of not enough credit, the available amount will be deducted and the rest will be deducted upon the next recharge. Also in case of not enough balance during the whole month, the 67pt will be carried over to the next month.

The Stamp Tax is an already existing tax, and this is only an increase in its value based on government’s decision. It’s applied on subscribers, as per the law, and being collected by Mobile operators.

According to the new tax law number 83 issued June 2020

Article 9 has been updated as follows:
Two pounds stamp duty for each document subject to the specific stamp tax on which the stamp tax shall be of five piasters or more.

Related questions